A pot of crawfish fondant cake

Pot of crawfish fondant cake

Pot of crawfish fondant cake

Made from scratch right down to the marshmallow fondant.  Here is a photo to share and more posted on my Flickr account.  I will definitely have to share my “how to” on the gumpaste corn and crawfish in another post.  Initially, I thought that would be the hardest to execute but in fact it was quite simple and fun.

I baked four 10″ round white cakes to construct two 10″ tier cakes assembled on top of another.  Three 10″ cake boards were used – two for support and the other for the pot’s lid.  Four trimmed wooden dowels were inserted in the bottom tier for support of the top tier.

Orange buttercream was used as filling.  I used black cake color to tint my mm fondant until a gray hue was achieved.  I do have to admit that my second batch of mm fondant came out to be a lighter shade of gray than my first batch.  I didn’t really pay attention to the exact amount of black cake coloring that I was using.  So beware!

I crumb coated the cake with a plain powdered sugar and butter frosting recipe.  With the help of some melted almond bark as glue, the gray fondant was able to wrap around the cake.  I opted to wrap the mm fondant around the cake instead of rolling out an enormous sheet of fondant to cover the entire cake because I simply did not have enough counter space to do this.  So I think it would work either way.

I rolled out more gray mm fondant and used the 10″ cake board to trace and cut out a circle to cover the top of the cake.  On top of that, laid the crawfish, corn & potatoes ( you can’t see my potatoes because they were placed in the back).

Then, I proceeded to cover the last 10″ round cake board with fondant on both sides with a little frosting to help it stick to the board.  I rolled some fondant in my hand to make a handle for the pot.  I used melted almond bark to glue it on top.

Overall, this project was a blast.  There are so many other things you can do to make it more unique.  Like add a beer bottle or a paper towel roll next to the pot.  Be creative and have fun!

One Response to “A pot of crawfish fondant cake”

  1. Melissa Says:

    THIS IS AMAZING! please, oh please, can you make this for my groom to be?? 🙂 we’ll be in touch, my wedding is december 19th. 🙂

Leave a Reply

