The Taart van m’n Tante, a bakery in Amsterdam

Check it out!  While in Amsterdam, I stumbled across this cute and dainty bakery adorned with wax-like colorful decorated cakes.  Don’t get me wrong, they had real cake, too, but the fake ornate cakes on top of every retro table and window sill created a somewhat whimsical feel to the bakery that I just had to experience.

Welcome to The Taart van m’n Tante.  As I entered, I felt the magic of how cakes can bring friends, lovers, even a dog laying on the floor to take part in this affair.  A table opened up and soon I would taste the magic.  I ordered a slice of “Ann-Marie” and waited patiently, wondering if its frowned upon to flash my camera at every possible angle.  I opted to keep the intimate flow going and decided to burn the images into my head instead. 

Then, the light pink marzipan with mint green thin squiggles appeared on top of a plate with a dallop of white cream covered with colored sprinkles.  Underneathe emerged white, fluffy cake with strawberry cream so delicately layered.  Ohhh, I had a slice of heaven that day!

On my way out, I did snap a shot of one of the over-the-top decorated cakes as a keepsake.  Inside the Taart van m'n Tante

Inside the Taart van m’n Tante
Taarten van Able

I took this picture of the poster hanging on the window to remember to google Taarten van Able when I got back home

Leave a comment