Making a dragon cake

This project was soooo much fun.  4 evenings, 3 sheet cakes, 3 batches of marshmallow fondant, 2 batches of white chocolate buttercream and an extra pair of hands (my sister) to construct and finish the cake.

The dragon cake under construction

The dragon cake under construction

I think I gained 5 lbs. while carving the cake because I would eat all the pieces.  I hate wasting good cake!  Here are the recipes I used as a guide:

Jeff's birthday dragon cake

Jeff's birthday dragon cake

 My sister helped paint the monster.  I think that was the most enjoyable part – watching it come alive with color!  You should’ve seen me carry this cake to my car by myself… not recommended.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

