more on choco banana

The cake baked well, just took a little longer.  Here is what I used for the filling:

I choose to make a more stiff ganache by allowing it to cool a little longer after melting the chocolate but still at a spreadable consistency.  Then, I spread the ganache on one layer and as it thined out it hardened slightly.  Which is great because the peanut butter buttercream had a softer consistency than the regular buttercream recipe I’ve tried.  I think it was because of the peanut butter.  I thought of adding more sugar but I didn’t want it to taste too sweet.  Not sure if that’s relevant, though.  Anywho, the PB cream went on top of the ganache and in between all 3 layers of the cake.

Chocolate Ganache

Chocolate Ganache

Peanut Butter Buttercream

Peanut Butter Buttercream

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The end result was a success.  I brought some to work and my co-workers loved it.  I might try adding more mashed banana.  Also, I really think ripe bananas are the key.  You know, the kind that are so mushy and brown/black on the outside.  They’re still good just not pretty to look at.  Overall, the combo was a success.  It kind of reminded me of a Reese’s peanut butter cup but in a cake and with some bananas.

Leave a Reply

