My second fondant cake

My god daughter Abby's birthday cake

My goddaughter Abby's birthday cake

I can probably go on and on about what I could have done differently but then that takes all the fun out of trying again!  Here is what I used for this cake:

  • 2 batches of marshmallow fondant (see recipe online)
  • pink, red and orange food coloring
  • 1 box Betty Crocker’s milk chocolate cake mix and 1 box chocolate fudge for top 9 in tier
  • 1 box Betty Crocker’s french vanilla cake mix and 1 box strawberry for bottom 10 in tier
  • 2 cake boards
  • buttercream frosting (store bought)
  • pink,  red, orange and white gumballs

For the sake of time I decided to use boxed cake mix and store bought buttercream frosting.  I only had two 9 inch round pans and one 10 inch round.  I made the fondant the night before but I didn’t make the cake ahead of time (my mistake).  I didn’t use any cake decorating tools but now that I know what’s out there I definitely will next time around.  Overall, I was quite satified and the most important part, my goddaughter, Abby, loved her 7th birthday cake!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “My second fondant cake”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Wow what a beautiful cake! I was just wondering how you get your fondant to looks so nice. Mine always has flour on top. And what size cake pans did you use? 9 and 10?

    • Felicia Says:

      Thank you Jessica! Yes, I used 9 and 10 inch round pans. As for the fondant, I used to have that same problem. Try spraying your fondant lightly with baking spray like Baker’s Joy or a little shortening on your fingertips to remove the excess flour. Use the spray or shortening sparingly to keep the matte look on the fondant or use more to give it a sheen or shiny look.

Leave a Reply

